If you are under 21 years of age and are found in possession of alcohol by the police, you can be charged in the state of Connecticut. Once you are charged, it is important that you contact a lawyer who has experience with cases similar to yours and who has extensive knowledge pertaining to alcohol laws and charges.
If you are a minor who has been charged with the possession of alcohol, you are probably being charged with the violation of Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-89(b), you can read this law by clicking here. Once this happens, you will be asked to plead guilty and pay a fine as your punishment.
Additionally, if you plead guilty, the DMV will automatically suspend your driver’s license for either 30 or 60 days depending upon the circumstances of your case. While it may seem like a good idea to just pay the fine and get it over with, this fine can have lasting effects on your life. Paying this fine can astronomically increase your auto insurance and ultimately cause you to shell out thousands of extra dollars a year. A guilty plea to the charge of possession of alcohol will cause you to lose your license, although this will not be stated on the ticket that you are given. Contact a lawyer and you may be able to resolve the case without lasting repercussions.
Most officers do not realize that there is a loss of drivers license that goes along with this ticket. They will tell you to pay the fine because they themselves are unsure of the law. It is important that contact a lawyer so that you can be fully informed of the consequences of pleading guilty to this charge and paying the fine.
If you are in the presence of alcohol, this does not mean that you are necessarily in possession of alcohol. You may be charged with possession of alcohol if you are pulled over and there is alcohol in a car, even if it is not yours. If you plead guilty to this charge, it will remain on your record, even if you weren’t in any real violation of the law. Lawyers can help you fight these cases. Talk to a lawyer before you plead guilty to the charges that you face.
It is a crime to possess alcohol as a minor. If you are caught by the police in the presence of alcohol, make sure that you have all of the facts straight. Contact a lawyer and tell them exactly what happened. Click here to schedule a free consultation with me.
Latest posts by Jill Ruane (see all)
- Juvenile Offenders and Mental Illness - December 31, 2014
- Prescription Drug Abuse is Just Drug Abuse - December 24, 2014
- Take These 5 Steps IMMEDIATELY After Your Child’s Arrest - December 17, 2014